Dr. Dinakar Kanjilal
Director, IUAC

    Inter-University Accelerator Centre (IUAC) was set-up by the University Grants Commission as the first Inter-University Centre (IUC) called Nuclear Science Centre after due approval of the Planning Commission and the Prime Minister in October, 1984. Its construction started in December, 1986 and completed in time on December 19, 1990. The Centre became a national user facility on July 8, 1991 after a series of beam tests and optimization of the operating parameters of the India's largest tandem accelerator (15UD PELLETRON). It added subsequently other accelerators like Superconducting Linear Accelerator (SC-LINAC) using Niobium Quarter Wave Resonators (QWRs), 1.7MV Pelletron Accelerator, Electron Cyclotron Resonance (ECR) ion source based Low Energy Ion Beam Facility (LEIBF). The first Radioactive Ion Beam Facility of the country has been established using the Heavy Ion Recoil Analyser (HIRA). World's first High Temperature Superconductor ECR ion source (HTS-ECRIS known as PKDELIS) has been developed and made fully operational at IUAC for various experiments. The Centre has been developing High Current Injector (HCI) using HTS-ECRIS, Radio Frequency Quadrupole (RFQ), Drift Tube Linac (DTL) and Low Beta QWRs as an alternate injector of existing SC-LINAC. The expertise developed in building advanced research instruments at IUAC has been recognised internationally.

The Centre has been playing an active and dynamic role as a coordinator cum facilitator in accelerator based research in Indian Universities for more than two decades. It has been providing for the users world class facilities for internationally competitive research in focussed areas of several disciplines, e.g., Nuclear Physics, Materials Science, Atomic & Molecular Physics and Radiation Biology.

Scientists of this Centre in collaboration with user community have set up major experimental facilities, opening up opportunities for front ranking research activities. Presently, it has state of art experimental facilities, e.g., the Gamma Detector Array, Heavy Ion Reaction Analyser, Hybrid Recoil Analyser, National Array of Neutron Detectors for Nuclear Physics. Indian National Gamma Array is a landmark joint collaboration among the research institutions in the country for setting up a large array of Clover detectors for gamma spectroscopy, in which IUAC has played a leading role. In Materials Science, In-situ transport characterization, In-situ X-ray diffractometer, In-situ Micro Raman facility, Atomic Force Microscope, Scanning Electron Microscope, FE-SEM, etc have been set-up. Rutherford Backscattering and Channeling (RBS/C) facility and a Low Energy Ion beam facility are being used by researchers regularly. IUAC is the only laboratory in India which provides Accelerator Mass Spectrometry (AMS) for 14C, 10Be and 26Al to users.

The basic objective of IUAC is to provide front ranking accelerator based research facilities in the country, and to create and upgrade the facilities for internationally competitive research within the university system.

More than 400 research groups from about 80 universities, 50 colleges, and 60 other national and international institutes/laboratories have been utilizing the research facilities at IUAC. All the facilities of the Centre are accessible by the user community and the projects are allocated by the Accelerator User Committee (AUC) in a transparent manner. The students and faculty members enjoy a very open and user friendly academic environment at IUAC round-the-clock seven-days-a-week.


Name Tenure
Prof Ayagiri Parasuram Patro December 1984 - October 1989
Prof Girijesh Kumar Mehta November 1989 - March 2001
Dr Amit Roy March 2001 - July 2013